modpolar.blogg.se

How check mac sierra for errors
How check mac sierra for errors











how check mac sierra for errors
  1. #How check mac sierra for errors how to
  2. #How check mac sierra for errors update

Operating system still operates (to a degree) - what is not operating is the underlying filesystem the same operating system resides on. What for? I want to repair a core filesystem, not reinstall a operating system. How is Apple handling this internally I wonder, can't imagine Tim Cook reinstalling his macOS after this 😉

how check mac sierra for errors

The FS without erasing the whole thing, and what then if I run into the very same error again? Sidenote: who is fletcher anyways? Please, tell me there is some sanity in APFS and one can actually repair ** The volume /dev/disk5 could not be verified completely. Warning: apfs_sb at apfs_fs_index (0): apfs_features has unrecognized features (2)

#How check mac sierra for errors update

Update II: After making a new USB bootable High Sierra installer (otherwise Recovery can't repair APFS Containers it is a part of, yup, for real) I found that -d flag (of course, documented in places I haven't been able to find) works with this version as it does in all previous versions ( -d as for debug) and got a bit more output from it: In bold I marked new parts from the fsck_apfs command output (as usual very useful and informative without doc's.)įletcher64_init:58: Selecting AVX2 implementation of fletcher64 Otherwise I would have imploded while writing the 3rd sentence of this post. Understand my irritation and frustration- I am sorry for the sarcasm, it's not directed at you- I had to let it out, somehow.

#How check mac sierra for errors how to

So any one got a usefull solution on how to repair a FS that can't be repaired with it's own repair tools?ĭear reader.

how check mac sierra for errors

I can go and reformat my drive because that the base Filesystem (marketed as the key feature) fs can't be repaired?Īpple, for real? I'm seriously amazed at the quality and implementation of such major change as APFS. One macOS system - and that is a fresh 1 SSD hard-drive High Sierra installation, AND this isĪctually the very Recovery System that is supposed to repair the very same disk. You gotta be kidding, right? What "another macOS system" is being referred here? I have only Restoring the original state found as mounted. Unmount them, or perform a repair while running from another macOS system (such as the Recovery System). I got this hillarious message - I was buffled and had to re-read this few times:Ĭan’t repair volume because other APFS Volumes in its Container are mounted. Where on the whole drive there is 1 APFS Container with 4 default volumes setup (erased, fresh GPT based default APFS) Update: after starting through the only one available Recovery from the very same disk drive













How check mac sierra for errors